Document Access Control with Access Groups

By default anyone who has access to your Room, will be able to see all documents that are not assigned to an access group. You can use access groups to restrict the viewing of certain documents. When a document belongs to an access group, only users that belong to that same access group will be able to view it. This guide will cover:

  1. Creating Document Access Groups
  2. Assigning Contacts to Access Groups

Create/Assign Access Groups When Adding A New Document

Add a new document by clicking "+ New Document".

You can now restrict this document to an Access Group by scrolling down to "Restrict Access" in the "Add New Document" modal. Click "Specific user access groups". Simply start typing to create a new access group, pressing enter when you're done. If you've already created an Access Group, you can simply select it from the dropdown. See screenshots below.

Create/Assign Access Groups When Editing an Existing Document

The process is similar when creating/assigning an access group to an already existing document. Start by clicking edit on the document card.

From here the process is identical as above. You can restrict this document to an Access Group by scrolling down to "Restrict Access" in the "Add New Document" modal. Click "Specific user access groups". Simply start typing to create a new access group, pressing enter when you're done. If you've already created an Access Group, you can simply select it from the dropdown. See screenshots below.

How to Remove Access Groups from Documents/Folders

If you would like to edit and/or remove an access group from a specific folder, you will need to edit the folder and delete the access group. Once you remove the access groups, you will want to adjust the folder settings to All invited or approved contacts and save.

If you need help deleting an access group, please email [email protected] and let us know which access group(s) you need removed.

Managing and Editing Access Groups

If you need to edit the name of a given access group or delete on, start by navigating to your Organization Preferences in the bottom left hand corner.

At the bottom of the page, you will see all current access groups and can edit and remove from here.